My top 5 Favorite reads

I am a self-confessed book lover. There is nothing better than a quiet afternoon with a good book and plenty of tea and cake.

Whilst I am and always will be a true Potterhead (I’m in Gryffindor, in case you were wondering!) there are a few books I have discovered on my travels which really do deserve a mention.

So here are my top 5 faves that I read again and again:

1. Bobbi Brown Makeup Manual

BBMM

OK, so technically this isn’t the kind of book you’d read in one sitting, but I love it. It’s easy to follow and is responsible for a lot of my make up knowledge.

2. Lea Michele Brunette Ambition

LMBA

I am a massive Glee fan, so when this was released I had to buy it. I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of info, helpful tips, recipes….you name it, it’s in here. And it really does encourage you to feel beautiful no matter what your shape or size.

3. Dead Beautiful by Yvonne Woon

DBYW

I found this while in a small off the beaten track book shop in Croatia. I liked the blurb, and I was right to pick it up. One of the best, most gripping stories I’ve read in years.

4. Blood & Ice by Robert Masello

BIDM

This was another find from the Croatian book shop, and I love it. Not your typical ‘girl meets vampire, nearly dies, then they all live happily ever after’ vampire novel, it has a lot more depth and I couldn’t put it down. Definitely worth a read.

5. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

PCRR

This was reviewed on another blog and it sounded good so I ordered it on amazon. I am SO glad I did. Such an interesting story line, really surprising and a very interesting read!

Honorable mention:

I couldn’t leave this off the list.

Lion Boy/ Lion Boy: The Chase/ Lion Boy: The Truth by Zizou Corder

lbzc2

This trilogy grabbed me when I was about 16. I got the first book free with a magazine, and then I searched through every library in my area for 3 months to find the others to finish it. It is aimed at teenagers, but the themes and story lines do ring true with adult readers as well. It has pride of place (see what I did there?) on my bookshelf, and I will read it over and over and never get bored.

I hope you enjoyed this list. Let me know if you’ve read any of these and what you thought!

Danni x

Leave a Reply

